top of page

Deborah Jackson redefines science fiction in the age of rage

So this review of my works plus an interview was released last week from a writer (Adam Shein) at Apt613, an Ottawa Arts and Culture ezine.


I have permission to reproduce, so I'll just add a little of the beginning, jump to the end and perhaps add a few points.


Deborah Jackson is an Ottawa writer who transports readers off-planet. Enthralling page-turners, her multiple novels combine geology, biology and genetic engineering into a matrix worth exploring. A significant turn-of-the-millennium theme runs through her literary creations, which fall within the science fiction genre but, more specifically, within near-future speculation. Her literature conveys an evolving landscape for the reader to explore. To read Jackson is both a departure to outer space and a passage to our inner world.




I spoke with the writer about her most recent books, The Furies’ Bog and For the Love of Mars. We also discussed the transformative influences that empower Jackson’s novels.

. . .

Given that science fiction is a massive genre, please describe your niche within the genre. Would you say that you focus on a particular theme?

The first two themes would be hard science and near-future speculation. I start with a concept that has the potential to evolve, like bioengineering in Sinkhole or genetic engineering in The Furies’ Bog and For the Love of Mars. Most of my novels involve pre-apocalyptic or apocalyptic themes. Science is evolving very rapidly, and we’re not considering the potential consequences.

I will add this: As I began my writing career, disaster movies were at their peak. I still watch Dantes Peak, and The Day After Tomorrow with my (grown) children. And Armageddon and Deep Impact. You might say they had a deep impact on me. Notwithstanding we’re in the middle of a global climate disaster and heading toward worsening conditions. And the political situation is also at a boiling point. So I would say that the theme is extremely relevant.


. . .


Out of all the books you have written, what is your magnum opus or greatest accomplishment, and why?

I’m not really sure I would consider my science fiction books the same as a great composition, but as far as my greatest accomplishment, I think it would be The Silent Gene series because I went back to school. I took a course at MIT on genetics to learn more background about genetic engineering. I went through textbooks on molecular biology and numerous studies and usually, it takes me a year or two to write a book. This one took five years and the next book took six. I was just beginning my writing career when 9/11 occurred and then the invasion of Iraq. I wanted to convey the anger and bewilderment of that time. I wanted to emphasize and explore this turn-of-the-millennium theme. I don’t think we’ve ever recovered, either. We’ve basically entered the age of rage.

I believe this interview will lead to a better understanding my books and my thoughts on our current age. If you would like to read more, follow the link.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Via RSS
RSS Feed

FOLLOW ME

© 2015 by Deborah Jackson. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page